Just in Case it Mattered

The first time he vanished from the earth
I prayed to the gods; they answered with mirth
The heavens smiled, showed me great fortune;
Desperately I searched, though my soul, tortured,
I’d hold my head in my hands, and by chance,
Or dedication, or maybe it had been planned,
I heard him ask a question. While I was swept
Over by indecision, I wavered, incessantly, I kept
Putting it under examination. I’d leave it to faith;
With unhindered determination he’d reach the place
He wanted to be. Grains of sand slithered downwards,
I started to worry; apprehension surged me forward,
Responding to lost time, I gave him a particle;
“I have been searching”; just in case it mattered.
But I remain uncertain, will I, without the help
Of the sovereign, be able to hear his voice again.

If he isn’t dead.

-Sabs-

Leave a Reply

